Saudi Arabia- Telecommunications Bylaw



Pursuant to Chapter 2 of the Saudi Arabian Telecommunications Bylaw (the “Bylaw”), the Saudi Arabian regulatory framework features two types of licences: individual licences and class licences.

Individual Licences

As stated generally in Article 11.2 of the Bylaw, the following services require an individual licence:

  •   fixed voice telephone services;
  •   public mobile cellular telecommunications services;
  • operation of a public telecommunications network;
  •  national and international fixed and mobile data communications services; and
  • such other types of service as the Communications and Information Technology Commission (the “Commission”) decides require an individual license.

Article 12 outlines the conditions to which individual licences are subject.

Class Licences

Class licences are issued to service providers for the provision of services or the operation of networks in all cases other than those listed above.  Two types of class licences are identified: Type A and Type B.

The number of Type A class licences issued by the Commission may be limited.  The issuance of Type A class licences may be subject to competitive licensing procedures and qualification.  The number of Type B class licences is not limited, and issuance of these licences is not subject to competitive licensing procedures or qualification.

Section 11.4 of the Bylaw lists the conditions to which class licences are subject. Articles 11.5 and 11.6 outline the services and networks which require Type A and Type B class licences, respectively.


Issuance of Licences

Chapter 2 of the Bylaw outlines, among other things, the following:

  •  the licensing process and criteria;
  •  the comparative evaluation process; and
  •   the process for conducting an auction.



Learn More