UK Office of Communications [4.4.1]

United Kingdom- The Communications Act 20031 restructured the former system for media and communications regulation by forming a new regulatory body, Ofcom, which would be responsible for both the communications and media industries.2 Under the Communications Act 2003, the regulation of broadcasting and telecommunications were brought under one regulation, supervised by one regulatory entity. In effect, the Act implements the EU’s new regulatory framework and is applicable to all electronic communications networks, electronic communications services and associated facilities and content services.3 Furthermore, Section 348 of the Act liberalizes media ownership rules by removing existing prohibitions against non-European Economic Area members from holding broadcasting licences.


1 Available at

2 The Office of Communications (Ofcom) was formed by the merger of five regulators: the Broadcasting Standards Commission; the Office of Telecommunications; the Radio Authority; the Independent Television Commission; and the Radiocommunications Agency.

3 See Stuart Weinstein, Ofcom, Information-Convergence and the Never Ending Drizzle of Electric Rain, International Journal of Communications Law and Policy, Issue 8, Winter 2003/2004, at 19-20.

Learn More